Mairangi Bay Bowling Club Inc.

11-13 Ramsgate Terrace Mairangi Bay Auckland 0630 New Zealand

(09) 478-6033 www.mairangibowls.org.nz

I

I



Annual General Meeting 22 June 2024 at 10.30am at the Clubhouse Minutes

Minutes				
Item				
1	Apologies: Arthur Beale, Janne Beale, Bruce Aley, Helen Aley, Gordon Jenkins, Keith Berman, Louise Ball, Ian Lucas, Colin Rogan, John Valentine, Teresa Rogers, David Hutcheson, Ian Baxter, Bruce McClintock, Flora Macdonald	Secretary		
2	Minutes of Annual General Meeting held on 18 June 2023 (circulated with agenda) Motion: that the Minutes of the 2023 AGM be accepted Moved:_Barry McCrystal, Seconded: Sandra Coombe - Approved	Secretary		
3	Chairs Report Received and discussed	Chair		
4	Financial Statements for FY 2023-2024 (circulated with agenda) Motion – that the Financial Statements for FY 2023-24 be accepted. Moved: Tony Popplewell, Seconded: Kevin Cameron - Approved	Treasurer		
5	Budget for FY 2024-25 (circulated with agenda)Motion – that the Budget for FY 2024-25 be accepted.Moved: Tony Popplewell, Seconded: Allan Langley - Approved	Treasurer		
6	Annual Subscriptions for 2024-25 Motion: that the Annual subscriptions for 2024-25 be Full – \$270 Full 1 st year \$175 Limited – \$160 Associate – \$85 Business House Plus – \$40	Treasurer		

	Social - \$20 Student - \$75		
	Moved: Sandra Coombe, Seconded: Gaye Horne - Approved		
7	Confirmation of Patron	Chair	
	Motion: that Jean Ashby ONZM be appointed as Patron for 2024-25.		
	Moved: Ian Coombe, Seconded: Kerin Roberts - Approved		
1			

8	Election of Officers & Board Members	President	
	The following applications have been received for Board Officers for		
	2024-25		
	President – Tony Stanaway		
	Vice President – Tony James		
	Treasurer – Tony Popplewell		
	Secretary - Russell Parkinson		
	Motion: That the applications for Board Officers be confirmed		
	Moved: Ian Coombe, Seconded: John Miles – Approved		
	The following applications have been received for Board Members		
	for 2024-25		
	Colleen Rice		
	Gaye Horne		
	Glenda Rountree		
	Alan Daniels		
	Allan Langley		
	Motion: That the applications for Board Officers be confirmed		
	Moved: Ian Coombe, Seconded: John Miles – Approved		
	Thanks to the past president was expressed by the new president		
9	Notices of Motion	Chair	
	No Notices of Motion have been received		
10	General Business	Chair	
	Barry McCrystal (Club Captain) conveyed feedback he had		
	received re dissatisfaction around current procedures on		
	Thursdays during winter and club members being balloted		
	out.		

Deleted: ¶

I

I

I

	 Ian Coombe outlined his views on importance of maintaining the open entry for Thursday tournament to help Mairangi Bay players achieve at Centre level. Steve McGregor outlined his concerns as a convenor regarding non club members bringing in outside players 		
	who were not regular summer players.		
	 Les Boulton outlined his concerns and feedback from 2 and 3 year bowlers at the haggle over lack of single entry Thursdays over winter and importance of this feature for newer club bowlers trying to get games and experience on Thursdays. 		
	• Kevin Cameron outlined that previous board had looked at these issues and that it was contentious and resulted in a rare vote. (board voted in June 2023 to have one single entry on Thursdays each month as well as increase the number of club member only ham tournaments.)		
	 John Lindsay mentioned Tuesday single entry tournaments as an option but it was noted that these are currently half day. 		
	 Ian Coombe noted that this was an ongoing issue for the new board and discussion on this topic closed. 		
	 John Smith noted that the club lease was up for renewal in 2025 and that council requirements had increased. John offered to assist club and preparation and discussions over the lease. 		
	 Jo Baxter noted that a "sick member" board use to be used in the clubrooms so members could keep track of and support those who were ill. Stuart Jamieson explained why it stopped. Board will look into it. 		
	• Tony Popplewell on behalf of the club conveyed thanks to the outgoing President, Vice President and Board Chairman for their years of work on behalf of the club.		
11	Meeting Close	Chair	
	Meeting closed at 11.30am		

l